Chris Froome wins 4th Tour de France with support from Banda School

Banda School Tour de France
Pupils from Banda School supporting Chris Froome in the Tour de France. Photo: Twitter/stevewinchie

Team Sky’s Chris Froome has crossed the Tour de France finish line in Paris become Britain’s first four-time winner of the Tour de France.

The British Kenyan cyclist had recorded previous victories in 2013, 2015 and 2016 and only had to finish the 21st and final stage after all but securing victory by retaining the yellow jersey in Saturday’s time trial.

His fourth title was secured by finishing 54 seconds ahead of Colombia’s Rigoberto Uran.

In doing so, he became the first person to win the race three times in a row since Spain’s Miguel Indurain in the early 1990s.

During this year’s race, he was supported by pupils from Banda School, his old primary school in Nairobi.

Five-time champions Eddy Merckx, Jacques Anquetil, Bernard Hinault and Miguel Indurain are the only cyclists to have won more Tours than Froome.


Comments are closed.